Apple’s App Store expands to Africa

Apple’s App Store expands to five African countries (image:

Apple has decided to allow an additional 33 countries to access their hugely-successful App Store, including five African nations. The App Store allows users of any Apple device such as an iPad or iPhone, to download and buy applications.

The addition of 33 countries brings to 123, the total number of countries where the App Store is available.

The 33 new countries that can now use the App Store are: Algeria, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, Iceland, Montserrat, Nigeria, Oman, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and The Grenadines, Suriname, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Uzbekistan and Yemen.

“Last month, Apple revealed that it has sold more than 200 million iOS devices, and that consumers have downloaded more than 14 billion apps from its App Store in total. In terms of which apps are making the most revenue, reports indicated that free-to-play titles brought in nearly two-thirds of all game revenue in June,” Gamasutra wrote.