West Africa Mobile Awards Finalists Announced

ESET discovers vulnerability in a Cirque de Soleil mobile app
ESET discovers vulnerability in a Cirque de Soleil mobile app.


Finalists for the WAMAS announced.
Finalists for the WAMAS announced.

The West Africa Mobile Awards (WAMAS), the West African technology awards which looks to recognise the region’s leading mobile and tech companies, today announced the 2017 shortlisted finalists.

With over 150 submissions coming in from across 14 countries the awards looks to build on the success of last year’s WAMAS. 2017 has produced a vast array of entries from exciting new technologies and services, from startups to established ventures driving progress in West Africa.

The WAMAS are supported by BBM, Mobile West Africa (MWA), AppsAfrica.com, Wimbart PR, Dress Me Outlet, Kasi Insights and many other industry-leading organisations and publications.

A prestigious judging panel featuring experts from AppsTech, Disrupt Africa, TechLoy, Women In Tech Africa, CcHub and many others worked together to down-select from the many worthy entries and create the shortlist. The shortlisted finalists by category are as follows:

Best App
JORG Technologies, MyAds Global, PayWithCapture, ScholarX, Sliide Airtime

Commerce & Retail
BrowseDotCom, BuyOverChat Technologies, Dress Me Outlet, Jiji.ng, OLX

Bincom ICT Solution, Flutterwave, GoodWealth, Mahindra Comviva, Piggybank Nigeria

Mobile Education
Alassaut.com, iConcepts, Opportunity Space, Optiweb Communications, Solutech.edu.sn

Mobile Innovation
Eskimi, MallforAfrica, Optiweb Communications, Sliide Airtime, VAS2Nets Technologies

Mobile Marketing Campaign
Bloom Interactive, Cloomify, Tecno Mobile, The Guardian, Unilever

Social Impact
Dimagi, Human Network International, Mahindra Comviva, MOBicure, MTN Nigeria

Social, News & Entertainment
BattaBox, Bloom Interactive, Media Navigation, Optiweb Communications, The Guardian

Outstanding Industry Achievement
Faith Adesemowo, Omobola Johnson, Rebecca Enonchong, Ugo Okoye, Vytautas Paukstys

Young Gun of the Year Award
Andrew Airelobhegbe (ogaVenue), Corbyn Munnik (Sliide Airtime), Iyin Aboyeji (Flutterwave), Lum-Neh Angela (Opportunity Space), Odionye Confidence (Beat Traffik)

All shortlisted companies will be celebrated and the winners announced during an awards gala party on the evening of Thursday, 18th May at Rooftop Lagos with over 150 mobile industry executives, international media, investors, prestigious judges and sponsors.

Staff Writer