Sunday, April 21, 2024
No menu items!

Nominees for New African Woman Awards 2016 Revealed

Must Read
Wire Woman
The first edition of the New African Woman Forum Awards sets out to honour extraordinary women who have made significant achievements in their countries and communities.

The first edition of the New African Woman Forum Awards sets out to honour extraordinary women who have made significant achievements in their countries and communities.

The awards are given across 11 categories: Business; Politics and Public Office; Education; Science, Technology and Innovation; Finance and Banking; Media; Sport; Arts and Culture; Civil Society; Rising Star; and New African Woman of the Year.

The shortlist recognises over 60 remarkable women who have made significant contributions in their respective fields. The winners, as voted by New African Woman magazine’s readers, will be announced during the Awards ceremony on Thursday, 10th March in London.

The inaugural New African Forum and awards will take place in London two days after the International Women’s Day (IWD), held this year under the theme: “Planet 50-50 by 2030: Step It Up for Gender Equality”.

Leila Ben Hassen, chair of the NAWF judging panel said that the global theme for IWD is a call to action for parity to close the gender gap, which is squarely aligned with the NAW Forum theme, designed to celebrate women’s leadership and excellence on the continent.

“The New African Woman Forum brings together over 150 leaders from business, academia and civil society, as well as key decision makers from the public and private sector. It will also offer a unique platform to meet, network and share the success stories, experiences and challenges of the African Women who are changing the game on the continent. My co-judges and I look forward to discovering more about these incredible women of Africa and selecting this year’s winners”, she said.

The judging panel comprises Leila Ben Hassen, General Manager, IC Publications; reGina Jane Jere, Editor New African Woman; Onike Nicol-Houra, Principal Business Development Officer at African Development Bank; Amadou Mahtar Ba, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman AllAfrica Global Media and Member of UN Secretary-General’s High Level Panel on Women’s Economic Empowerment; and Dr Nkosana Moyo, Executive Chairman for the Mandela Institute for Development Studies (MINDS).

Read the full list of New African Women Awards Nominees below:

* Clare Akamanzi (Rwanda)
* Marie Diongoye Konaté (Ivory Coast)
* Olajumoke Adenowo (Nigeria)
* Salwa Idrissi Akhannouch (Morocco)
* Sibongile Sambo (South Africa)
* Swaady Martin (Ivory Coast)

* Ameenah Gurib-Fakim (Mauritius)
* Amina J. Mohammed (Nigeria)
* Bineta Diop (Senegal)
* Fatima Haram Acyl (Chad)
* Jeanine Mabunda Lioko Mudiayi (DR Congo)
* Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (South Africa)
* Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka (South Africa)

* Bruktawit Tigabu (Ethiopia)
* Elizabeth Akua-Nyarko Patterson (Ghana)
* Maureen Maisha Auma (Kenya)
* Naadiya Moosajee (South Africa)
* Noella Coursaris Musunka (DR Congo)
* Wanjiru Kamau-Rutenberg (Kenya)

* Chinwe Ohajuruka (Nigeria)
* Habiba Bouhamed Chaabouni (Tunisia)
* Jamila Abass (Kenya) * Sara Menker (Ethiopia)
* Thérèse Izay Kirongozi (DR Congo) * Winnifred Selby (Ghana)

* Arunma Oteh (Nigeria)
* Hela Cheikhrouhou (Tunisia)
* Najwa El Iraki (Morocco)
* Omokehinde Ojomuyide (Nigeria)
* Sipho S. Moyo (Zimbabwe)
* Viola Llewellyn (Cameroon)
* Viviane Bakayoko (DR Congo)

* Dounia Ben Mohamed (Tunisia)
* Eloïne Barry (Guinea)
* Lerato Mbele (South Africa)
* Mo Abudu (Nigeria)
* Mona Eltahawy (Egypt)
* Yvonne Ndege (Kenya) SPORT
* Almaz Ayana (Ethiopia)
* Blessing Okagbare (Nigeria)
* Cathy Phiri (Zambia)
* Genzebe Dibaba Keneni (Ethiopia)
* Habiba Ghribi (Tunisia)
* Neku Atawodi (Nigeria)

* Amma Asante (Ghana)
* Bibi Bakare-Yusuf (Nigeria)
* Bisi Silva (Nigeria)
* Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)
* Ellah Wakatama-Allfrey (Zimbabwe)
* Nike Davies-Okundaye (Nigeria)
* Uzo Aduba (Nigeria)

* Aisha Muhammed-Oyebode (Nigeria)
* Debbie Ariyo (Nigeria)
* Elizabeth Nyamayaro (Zimbabwe)
* Kaleba Ngoie Kasongo (DR Congo)
* Leyla Hussein and Nimco Ali (Somalia)
* Obiageli Ezekwesili (Nigeria)
* Toyin Saraki (Nigeria)
* Zainab Hawa Bangura (Sierra Leone)

* Amy Jadesimi (Nigeria)
* Anne Kansiime (Uganda)
* Hannah Wanjie Ryder (Kenya)
* NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe)
* Vivian Onano (Kenya)
* Zuriel Oduwole (Nigeria)

The New African Woman of the Year Award will be announced at the Gala Dinner.

Staff Writer

- Advertisement -

Plan Ahead with Bolt: Book Your Ride In Advance

Bolt has launched its 'Scheduled Rides' feature allowing users to book rides up to 72 hours in advance. This feature...
Latest News
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -