MENU

YouTube sports new ‘auto-delete’ feature

October 3, 2019 • General, Online & Social, Top Stories

YouTube has become a bit more private – at least, according to the latest news that Google is rolling out a new ‘auto-delete’ viewing history feature on the video streaming platform.

YouTube now gives users the option to store their video search history for a predetermined amount of time.

In an official statement released by Google, the company says “In May, we announced that you could automatically delete your Location History and Web & App Activity, which includes things you’ve searched and browsed. We promised to bring this to more products, and now we’re bringing Auto-delete to YouTube History“.

This feature will give YouTube users the option to store their video search history for a predetermined amount of time – before it is wiped automatically. Google says users can set their account to store history for a period of 3 or 18 months – “set the time period to keep your data – 3 months, 18 months, or until you delete it – and we’ll take care of the rest”.

To activate this feature, YouTube users need to first log into their Google account and check out the ‘My Activity’ and choose the ‘Other Google Activity’ option.

From there, the user must select the ‘Manage activity’ option under ‘YouTube History’ and click on ‘Choose to delete automatically’. They will then be able to choose a period of time to store their search history.

This move is part of Google’s plan to create a more private and secure experience for its consumers across all of its products and services. Earlier this year, the company launched a similar feature for users’ Location History and Web & App Activity – including search history across these services.

Edited by Jenna Cook

Follow Jenna Cook on Twitter

Follow IT News Africa on Twitter

Comments

comments


Comments are closed.

« »