Telkom appoints new executives

Telkom appoints new executives

Telkom appoints new executives

On Thursday, February 21, Telkom SA SOC Ltd announced the resignation of Jabu Mabuza as an independent non-executive director and Chairman of the Telkom Board. The resignation is effective 31 May 2019.

Mabuza will be replaced by Sello Moloko, an independent non-executive director on the Telkom Board and a seasoned director, who will be elected as the new chairman of the Telkom board with effect from 1 June 2019.

Moloko is the non-executive Chairman of Sibanye-Stillwater Limited and has also chaired the board of Alexander Forbes Groups Holdings Limited independent.

“Jabu Mabuza has chaired the Telkom Board through some rough times since he joined the Board in December 2012,” said Sipho Maseko, Group Chief Executive Officer. “On departure, he will leave a strong and stable organisation.”

“The board would like to thank Jabu Mabuza for his valuable contribution to the Company and for the critical role he played as the chairman of the board since 14 November 2012,” Telkom informed investors on Thursday.

Telkom also announced the appointment of Dr Sibusiso Sibisi to the Telkom board effective on 1 April 2019.

Dr Sibisi has a BSc (Physics) from Imperial College of Science and Technology and a PhD from Cambridge University. His appointment brings extensive expertise in ICT, start-up ventures, and business-to-business intelligence skills.

Edited by Neo Sesinye
Follow Neo Sesinye on Twitter
Follow IT News Africa on Twitter