Telkom attracts five top business leaders to its Board

Telkom has announced the appointment of five top business leaders as independent non-executive members of the Company’s Board.

Telkom’s Board of Directors today announced the appointment of non-executive directors (image: file)

The new Board members are Susan Botha, Dr Clive Adrian Fynn, Khanyisile Kweyama, Fagmeedah Petersen and Louis Leon Von Zeuner.

Telkom now has a board of 14 members, enabling it to speedily fill vacancies on board committees and focus on the recruitment of a new Group Chief Executive Officer. Current Group CEO Nombulelo Moholi has resigned but is continuing to serve the Company during her notice period.

Board Chairman Jabu Mabuza said: “It is heartening for me that people of this stature and calibre are able to give of their experience to the Company, to return it to its glory days of delivering superior service to its customers.

“The latest appointments join our other recent Board recruits, Leslie Maasdorp and Kholeka Mzondeki, and together they form a considerable resource for executive management,” continued Mr Mabuza.

He said Telkom appreciated that the new board members had demonstrated their commitment to contribute towards the development of Telkom as a company that is critical to the future of South Africa’s economy.

“In addition, the recent meeting between the Minister of Communications and the Board demonstrated that there is a fresh, shared, understanding emerging of the policy requirements of government and the business imperatives for Telkom.

“It is encouraging that in just a few weeks we have made significant strides in addressing the issues of leadership and government’s relationship with Telkom.

“This path to full restoration of all governance structures will be followed with the appointment of a new Group Chief Executive Officer. This will place Telkom firmly on track to deliver the dual challenges of maintaining and growing shareholder value and contributing towards national economic and social development.” concluded Mr Mabuza

Profiles of new members of the Telkom Board

Susan Botha

Susan Botha has a Bachelor of Economics Honours from the University of Stellenbosch. She is the Chancellor of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, and was previously an Executive Director of MTN Group Limited and Absa Bank Limited.

Botha is currently the Chairman of Curro Holdings Limited. Other board memberships include Tiger Brands Limited, Imperial Holdings Limited and Famous Brands Limited.

Dr Clive Adrian Fynn

Dr Fynn has a PhD (Entrepreneurship) from the University of Pretoria and a Masters degree in Business Management from the University of Sheffield in the United Kingdom. He is the Managing Director and Senior Vice President of Global Alliances, an IT forensic practitioner and an honorary professor and PhD and Masters’ External Examiner to international and ICT schools.

Dr Fynn was previously the Managing Director and Chairman of Cisco Systems Capital (South Africa) and an Executive Director of Siemens Business Services.

He is a board member of several South African industrial companies and plays an active role in various ICT policy committees.

Khanyisile Kweyama

Khanyisile Kweyama obtained a Master’s degree in Management from the University of Witwatersrand. She is currently Head of Anglo American Southern Africa Limited and previously the Executive Head: Human Resources at Anglo American Platinum Limited and Group Executive: Global Human Resources at Barloworld Limited.

Kweyama is currently the Vice President of the Chamber of Mines and a Director of Anglo Platinum Management Services, Rustenburg Platinum Mines, Sovereign Foods Limited and the Walter Sisulu University Board.

Fagmeedah Petersen

Fagmeedah Petersen has a Bachelor of Business Science (Actuarial Science) from the University of Cape Town and is a fellow of the Actuarial Society of South Africa. She is an Investment Expert Trustee of the Government Employee Pension Fund and Acting Chief Investment Officer of Eskom Pension and Provident Fund.

Petersen was previously a specialist trustee of Lifestyle Retirement Annuity and Preserver suite of funds. She was also the principal consultant and valuator at Alexander Forbes Financial Services and Sanlam Employee Benefits.

Louis Leon Von Zeuner

Louis Leon Von Zeuner obtained a Bachelor of Economics from the University of Stellenbosch and holds several international qualifications. Until recently he was Deputy Group Chief Executive of Absa Bank Limited.

Von Zeuner worked in Absa’s retail and commercial banking operations from 1981, where he held various branch, regional and provincial leadership positions. He was appointed Operating Executive of Absa Commercial Bank in 2000, following which he was appointed as an Executive Director of Absa Group Limited in 2004. He remains on the board of Absa Group.

Staff writer