Twitter is Testing a New Tweet Reply Feature

49
Image sourced from Twitter

Twitter is testing a new feature that will allow users to choose who can reply to their tweets. Essentially, before posting a tweet, users will be able to select one of three options: everyone (standard Twitter, and the default setting), only people you follow, or only people you mention – thereby controlling who can (or cannot) reply to a specific tweet.

This new setting is all a part of Twitter’s plan to give users more control over their conversations across the platform.

“Twitter is where you go to see and talk about what’s happening. But sometimes, unwanted replies make it hard to have meaningful conversations,” says Suzanne Xie, Director of Product Management at Twitter, in an official blog post.

“Being able to participate and understand what’s happening is key for useful public conversation. So, we’re exploring how we can improve these settings to give people more opportunities to weigh in while still giving people control over the conversations they start.”


Here’s a quick look at exactly how the feature works:

If users select either the “only people you follow” or the “only people you mention” options then their tweet will be labelled and the reply icon will be greyed out so that it’s clear for people if they can’t reply. See image below:

People who can’t reply will still be able to view, Retweet, Retweet with Comment, and like these Tweets.

Xie says that for now, only a limited group of people globally on Twitter for iOS, Android, and twitter.com can Tweet with these settings.

Edited by Jenna Delport
Follow Jenna Delport on Twitter

Follow IT News Africa on Twitter